But I also really did love last year…

I think maybe I was a little bit harsh on 2010 in my last post.  The holidays were heavy with stress (see: five million petsitting jobs, none of which I am willing to go easy on; if I do a job, I’m going to do it well, dammit. Even if it means being snippy at my wife a lot. Sorry, wife.), we had to put our dog Thumper to sleep on Christmas night, and with all the birthdays crammed in, it was just a really hard time of year.  So: I dedicate today to celebrating what was amazing last year:

My family.  Things have been hard and we are undergoing some changes, but one thing I can be grateful for is how intentional I have been with them.  It’s not possible anymore to just go hang out with everyone for an evening, and that sucks.  But the upside is that I have been able to spend some really quality time with every member of my family, and I love that.  Maybe this is because of the changes, maybe it is because I’m a Grown Up now, or maybe it’s a combination; regardless, it’s a good thing.

My new family.  My wife is amazing and I talk about this all the time, so I won’t make you gag again now.  Let it suffice to say that I am grateful for her every day, even when I am grumpy about it.

Our wedding.  It was possibly – probably! – the best day of my life.  Not because it was “supposed” to be or because I followed any sort of script; it was the best day because Turtle & I were celebrating and affirming our relationship while surrounded by our most important people.  It was absolutely amazing to feel so much love in that one day.  It was wonderful to spend so much time articulating what we want out of our relationship before the wedding.  It was such a blessing to feel our family and friends rise up to support us in the days before the wedding, and on our wedding day itself.

My job, and deciding to leave it.  I learned a lot there, and it helped me to articulate what I do and don’t want in my life; I think that without that experience, I would still be fumbling around trying to be a vet and wondering why things didn’t feel quite right.

(This is the one and only picture of me at work. Jake is helping by sitting on exactly what I wanted to write on.)

Friends! I mean, of course, friends.  But new friends.  I have met so many people this year through petsitting, through Weddingbee, and through APW – it is is so encouraging to meet so many amazing people in the world.

APW Boston Meetup

What were the best parts of your last year? Please share – I miss you guys.

10 Comments

Filed under other

10 responses to “But I also really did love last year…

  1. This was the perfect follow up post to yesterday. I love both the not so good and the good reflections. It is always great to end on the positive and it is so rarely done! 2010 was a great year for me (not to rub it in) because I got engaged and feel at peace and I am hesitantly hopeful that 2011 tops it.

  2. cmc

    A good question. I haven’t been all that good at self-reflection and introspection this holiday. Quick review says:

    First half of year was rough. Classes were uninspiring and teaching was really a struggle for me, students hard to teach. I was tired of my old house and snippy a lot. I did have a good time with friends, though – struggling through math class brought me close to a now good friend. Highlights of the year were moving in with and adventuring, vacationing with Evan. Things have been much more chill since then. And I’ve been able to figure out some food intolerance issues which has greatly improved my health & well being. Several “wow I’m growing up” moments giving talks to large groups of strangers and becoming vice president of a board of directors.
    As always, rowing has been a center of my sanity.

    Lots more changes in the new year as a graduate, find a job, seek out travels and adventures.

    Happy New Year!! xo

    • Hooray for adventures! I also keep having “Whoa, I’m growing up” moments, though not in front of lots of people. Except for that whole wedding thing.

      Your year sounds very worthwhile! I’m so glad I got to see you so many times in it 🙂

  3. Kristine

    I am so sorry to hear about Thumper! No wonder the holidays left you grumpy. That’s rough. But with such a wonderful support system around you, 2011 should be much better.

    Best parts of last year? My best friend flying all the way across the country just to see me. That was pretty awesome. I hope to return the favour soon. My husband finding a much better job. Yay him! Umm… Discovering a whole world of awesome people online. And of course, my dog being the nutbar she is. Yay her!

    Happy New Year!

    • Aww that is the sweetest! I’m so glad I discovered your blog last year – it’s given me a lot more motivation to work with Daphne on a few things, and convinced me that at least one person would be interested in reading about it.

  4. I am so sorry for your loss. We just had to put down our Hannah this morning, so I know how much it hurts to lose a member of the family, even a 4-legged one. 2010 had a lot of ups and downs for me too. One of the best things to come of last year was our new kitten, Toby. Even though he gets into things he shouldn’t, and has lately taken to trying to escape through the back door, he is a cutie pie and a real snuggler.

    I am hopeful that 2011 will be a good year for you and for me. I’ll let you know in 361 days!

    • Oh I am so sorry to hear about Hannah! Kittens do tend to help most situations 🙂 I hope you guys are all doing okay… thinking of you. Here’s to improvement in 2011!

  5. So glad to hear about the good! I also appreciate family a lot more now that I’m grown up. I do make visits a lot more intentional.

    Also, I’m super thankful for the friendships that have flourished around me in the last year, especially online. I don’t think I could have moved to Fargo without the support that the online community has given me.

    • Isn’t it amazing how much the internet can do? Crazy. I, too, am so grateful for the online community I’m still figuring out… glad to have “met” you this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

