The Thrill of the Chaos

Some people enjoy the Thrill of the Hunt or the Thrill of the Chase… it seems, my friends, that I enjoy the Thrill of Being Ridiculously Busy.

though I am capable of relaxing! see??

Since I’m leaving my job in less than two weeks, and I know it might take me a long time to find another job, I decided to start stocking up on money-making activities here and there.  I mentioned I was looking for something extra and a friend called me when her company needed some data entry done; I put up my petsitting cards at a local petstore (guys, I know it’s owned by PetCo, but I love UnLeashed – such a good petstore!) and now I’m walking and doing some positive-reinforcement training with a puppy in town on top of my regular clients; I stopped in at my favorite cookie-only bakery (okay, so there’s only one of those I know of, but it would be my favorite even if it wasn’t the only one) to buy cookies and on a whim asked if they were hiring – now I’m working there a few hours a week.

sky's the limit on insanity!

So I’m basically working four jobs through Christmas, and yes, I am a little bit stressed out, but also – I feel SO GOOD.  Every free moment is a moment I could do something with.  Quick! I have five minutes while the water boils for tea! Time to make that Christmas ornament I’ve been putting off! Okay, here’s another ten minutes before I have to leave: I’ll put tape on the windows and put the plastic up in a few days when I have fifteen minutes to spare.  I am getting an absolute thrill from being so damn busy.

At the end of the day, I am exhausted and usually either asleep or incredibly grumpy (sorry Wife!) by 9:30 at night, but I also feel so productive.  Maybe I don’t have a Thing, but maybe my Thing is trying to keep my head up without losing my shit.  In a good way.

It's all a delicate balance, sort of like a giant chess game. Like THIS giant chess game.

Are you someone who prefers to be busy than, you know, relaxed?  What do you do when you have too much time on your hands?  Does anyone besides somewhat crazy me ever actually feel like they have too much time on their hands?

Happy Tuesday, everyone!  Hopefully my posts don’t start sounding a little manic as these jobs pick up… please tell me if they do.  Or just sit in the corner being quietly entertained by me, and occasionally check in with my wife to make sure she’s doing alright.

*All photos from our Awesome  Honeymoon, which I may or may not someday get around to telling you about.  Er, about which I may or may not someday getting around to telling you. Yeah.

7 Comments

Filed under Home, other, Relationships

7 responses to “The Thrill of the Chaos

  1. When I’m relaxing I regret not doing something productive and when I am too busy I want to be relaxing. My next relaxing productive activity clearly needs to be finding a balance! So proud of all your jobs- fantastic!

    • I used to feel that way… by used to, I mean like three weeks ago. But now I feel like I’ve deserved the relaxing I do, and the working is so busy it feels wonderful.

  2. I go throw periods when I’m incredibly busy and have no time to slow down. Other times where I’m perfectly happy to sit on the couch in the evening and stare at the computer and tv. I’m in the latter period now and it’s nice. But I know the busy period is coming this spring, so I’m savoring the relaxing now while I still have it. But I like both, just in different ways.

    • I’m glad you can savor it while you have it! I found myself feeling stuck in both situations, wanting to be in the other. I’m glad I finally found a way to do both… for now, anyway.

  3. Kristine

    LOL. Your schedule leaves me feeling exhausted. I once worked two jobs plus went to school and I don’t know how I did it. I don’t know how you are doing all that and still finding time to keep up with your blog so regularly!

    I am definitely more of a one-job with lots of hobbies kind of girl. While I enjoy being busy, I don’t enjoy being worked off my feet. I really value my personal time.

    Lots of luck! That puppy training job sounds wonderful!

  4. Jen

    Yay! I’m so glad you posted your personal blog on WB – I have seriously loved following your posts on WB, as well as on Practical Wedding, and now have promptly placed your blog in my Google reader.

    I have always flourished while incredibly busy. It is incredibly exhausting, but hey – you DO feel so accomplished at the end of every week! Because you really have done so much! This is why unemployment is driving me NUTS! But I haven’t been as proactive as you have about finding those bits and pieces to fill my week with. I will definitely have to try more!

  5. Wow. I’m jealous of your energy! I’m one who definitely doesn’t thrive on chaos. I get overwhelmed. But mind you, I’m not doing such a good job of doing nothing either…. I guess I have a hard time finding a balance! I keep telling myself that after the holidays I’m going to get my unemployed butt in gear.

Leave a Reply

