Love-ly Week, here we go

Tonight is Friday night, Turtle is having her bachelorette pajama shindig, and I … I could not figure out what to do with myself. Go to Ikea? Alone? Be trusted to buy a good futon, what? I think not. Plus my car is threatening to fall apart on the highway.

Sit around the house? Alone? Last time that happened, I wrote a sad and desperate blog post and ended up in tears.

So you guys, I found something exciting: I am going to my mother’s house, and we are eating dinner and playing games and maybe watching a movie.  I am ridiculously excited about my Friday evening.  No sarcasm.

Sometimes you just need your mom, you know? Weddings are big and make you feel like a grownup sometimes, even when you don’t want to.  And I’m sure there will be plenty of grownup wedding talk tonight, too. But I’m really excited.

Tomorrow Turtle’s mom is coming, and on Sunday my dad is coming over to make us Sunday dinner.  I’m starting to think that, post Big Freakout Stressball-ism on Wednesday, things really will be wonderful.  This really will be just a wonderful week full of love. Not stress-free… but full of love.

Mom and sibligs

3 Comments

Filed under Marriage/Wedding/Engagement

3 responses to “Love-ly Week, here we go

  1. mom time is always needed. i don’t care how old i get or annoying my mom can be, a hug from her is the best kind of medicine.

    enjoy your friday night with momma dukes!

  2. Steph

    i love this story 🙂

  3. Ha! We are so on the same page! Earlier this week, I impulsively bought a plane ticket to my parents’ house for four days because I seriously just needed my mom and dad. It was a pretty extravagant $200 but I am so psyched. I feel like I will feel a lot more grounded after spending some time with them in my hometown.

Leave a Reply

