Taking care

Today I went to therapy, a healthy habit I picked up when I was doing direct-service stuff at the rape crisis center, and told her that I’m feeling like I don’t know how to take care of myself right now.  I feel a little chaotic – there’s a lot that I’m just waiting for, and not able to prepare for: we’re moving in a month and a half, so it’s too soon to really pack, since we’re still using our things; we’re getting married in under 6 months, but there’s so much that’s up in the air that I feel like I can’t do much concrete planning/projects; Turtle is jobless* so our budget is strict and restrictive.

So I said I feel like I’m not taking care of myself and she said, “That’s what your art class is.”

Yes, I started art class.  This is my six-month puppy replacement, I suppose.  She says my left brain is going crazy with all the up-in-the-air chaos, and that I need to basically do more and think less – and that is what I think I am doing.  Last night was my first 2.5 hour printmaking class, and we did some gelatin prints.  SO fun.  I had no idea what I was doing, and that was half the fun – without any expectations about how things might come out, I came up with some really interesting stuff.

Art class is no workout, but I left with the clearheadedness that I usually experience right after a good run.  So I suppose, in some little ways, I am taking care of myself.  Is it cheating to mail these out for my craft it forward?

print by me!

another print by me!

*um, until today! She starts a new job at the end of the month!  Temporary, but still – woo hoo!
1 Comment

Filed under other

One response to “Taking care

  1. Pingback: Tea is for Take Me « Roughing It

Leave a Reply

