Roughest Day

A little bit ago, I got this:

Dear NAME,

Thank you for trying out. Regretfully, we are unable to take you onto a team at this time. Please know that we were impressed by how far you’ve come during freshmeat training as well as by your hard work and enthusiasm. We recommend that you continue practicing and going to open skates to continue to develop your skating skills in preparation for next year’s tryouts.  We would love to see you there next year.

Thanks again for all of your hard work during the past few months. This was an incredibly hard decision, and we’re so sorry to be losing you as a skater for the time being.

This is how I feel tonight, only with more hair:

So, turns out I didn’t make roller derby.  Crap.

The whole thing was decided through a draft.  There were 21 of us in the pool and we had our final scrimmage today.  Afterwards, the three teams met and took turns picking people from the pool, and five of us didn’t make it, though of course we didn’t find out until hours later.  I left practice feeling really solid – I felt like my communication was really good during the game, I got in front of people and stopped them, I made holes for my jammers, and I worked really hard.  I was trying not to let myself think this way, and maybe I jinxed myself, but I left thinking, What team will I be on?

So, where to from here? Well, I guess this will give me more time to blog about my wedding, so yay for you if you’re reading this! And maybe I’ll try skating for another nearby team, but I’m not sure how I’ll fit with the other league.

Last time I had to stop skating (I fell and hurt my knee), I met someone special and fell in love, and look where we are now! So I guess I’m excited about whatever is coming up next…

2 Comments

Filed under Roller Derby

2 responses to “Roughest Day

  1. Not only is BDD losing out, but they’re stuck with a jerk who should have her email license revoked (AKA me.) I’m sorry dude. This sucks.

  2. Pingback: A Bird’s Life « Roughing It

Leave a Reply

