In Which Rough-It Begins.

When I worked at the rape crisis center and things started to wear on me, I began reading wedding blogs.

I suspect I am mildly ashamed of this because of how much I always insist that I am not ashamed of this, and how I always feel the need to preface “I read wedding blogs” with “I used to work at a rape crisis center.”  Sometimes I wonder if I would have stumbled across all the blogs I now read daily had it not been for hearing about/dealing with sexual assault on a regular basis, but either way, here we are.

There are a couple of reasons I finally decided to start this: first, that I keep reading about what other people are doing, and I want to chime in!  However, you can’t chime in on many of the websites I visit unless you are accepted, and you can only be accepted if you already have a blog, or something.  Second, I’m not even sure I like the idea of blogging, so here’s another adventure (and another thing to add to my to-do list!).  Third, I feel like I suddenly have all these things going on that I would like some feedback on, or that I have musings about, and this is as good a way as any to put them out there.  So here we go!

The internet has highlighted many wonderful things about weddings, but it has also highlighted some not-so-great things.  Pet peeve number 1 (thank you facebook): when people get married and change their names on facebook.  Not just their last names – that’s fine.  Of course it’s fine – a lot of people change their last name when they get married; this does not bother me.  What bothers me is when Mary Smith marries Joe Brown and changes her display name on facebook to Mary “Smith” Brown.  Mary, unless we are calling you “Smith” on a regular basis, it should be Mary Smith Brown.  There are at least 3 different friends of mine, all of whom were in my AP English classes in high school, who have their maiden names in quotations!  *wince*

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

